Learning By Design

Posted: March 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Turn ideas into pictures!

Visualize a blog post, TED Talk, Class lecture or even dense text from a book- through drawing. Use the pictures to symbolically represent & concretize abstract concepts, and to make connections between ideas. Try to use words sparingly and only to reinforce your imagery.

Doodle it in your notebook, use your tablet, or scribble it on the back of a napkin. Just be sure to digitize it and then blog about the process, including citing where your inspiration came from.

Here is my final design assignment from the ds106 page. This assignment is worth 5 stars, bringing my total to 16.5/15 stars.

For this assignment I chose Julie Burstein’s video on Ted.com about the 4 Lessons in Creativity. Like the Uncle Sam propaganda poster I found I was still wrapped up in the message of Creativity. To better know the talk itself take a look and listen after you view what I’ve come up with.

Learning By Design 005

As I was viewing the talk I was drawn into drawing a visualization of the speech because it was what it was about for the most part, embracing creativity. Visualizing something requires just that. To get a visualized lesson on paper you have to be creative in how to draw what it is you want to remember. I find visualizing something makes things easier to remember. In fact, in my Intro. to Psychology class I aced a test section on the eye because I drew the eye in my notes. When I was taking the test I drew it again on the exam. It was the first time the professor had ever seen a student to it on one of his tests, but it sure worked. It was like having a textbook right there with me as I took the test.

As each section of Julie Burstein’s video passed I tried to memorize what it was she was talking about and pinpoint the main ideas. I drew my self an outline as I listened. Once the talk was over I listened to it again, a luxury you do not always have in class, just to make sure I had not missed anything in my rush to jot everything down the first time. Once I had my outline and I had a pretty good understanding of the talk I drew my visualization. I find if you can do the visualization after an outline is made you don’t have to worry about being caught up with pictures and you can make the visualization organized and more effective.

Leave a Reply

