Back To Wanting Space.

Posted: September 11, 2012 in Fund. Visual Literacy

Since we got emotional squares out of the way, let’s get back to space. Here’s a recap of what kinds of space are out there:

Format space is the physical aspects of an image, Postive space refers to the main object of focus, Negative space is everything else in the picture, and Illusionary space shows depth.

With the recap done and all of us back on track, I want to focus on Negative space. Have you ever tried to just draw the Negative space around the object of main focus? When I ask this I mean you didn’t draw the Positive space. You drew the shapes making up the Negative space, making them your focus so all you have is the outline of your Positive object. Well, I gave it a shot. Here it is:

You can see the outline of my Positive, but my Negative has the shape and focus here. I think it turned out well; now you give it a try.

Comments
  1. Wow, I absolutely love it. Simple, elegant. Well done!

Leave a Reply

